Cool Hair Colors by Kylie Butler

All Things Hair: How did you get into hair? Kylie Butler: At a young age I was always intrigued by my moms hair color that was constantly changing. She has always had something fun, (pink, burgundy, purple, silver, you name it). She allowed me to color my hair in the fourth grade. I had red hair, then pink hair in the sixth grade. Junior high came around and I started doing it myself, and in high school I started working more on friends and family. I started beauty school at Paul Mitchell the School of Portland in 2010 and here I am today! All Things Hair: What do you love about color? Kylie Butler: I love that color, especially vivid colors, allow for my clients to express their personalities and get creative. It’s an art form, much like painting, its a wonderful creative outlet. My job is never boring. I face new challenges every day. I go into work each day as an artist, and that’s truly fulfilling in its own. All Things Hair: What color would you advise someone to try if they were hesitant to dye their hair? Kylie Butler: Because I work primarily with vivid hair colors, my go to in situations like this is purple! You can find a shade of purple to look beautiful on every skin tone, and purple fades beautifully when applied to the proper canvas. All Things Hair: What’s the best way to maintain hair color? Kylie Butler: I tell all of my clients to drop their shampooing down to one day a week, twice max, and avoid shampoos with sulfates. You also want to avoid washing your hair in hot water, and over using heat styling tools to prevent the cuticle of the hair from opening, allowing color to fade out of the hair faster. If you live in a sunny area, you also want to use some UV protection on your hair, and cover your hair with a scarf or a hat when in the sun for long periods of time. All Things Hair: What are some of the color trends that you predict will happen in 2017? Kylie Butler: I feel like 2017 is going to bring bolder color choices, brighter colors like neon blues and greens and multiple colors on one head. I’ve noticed over the past couple of weeks alone, my clients are starting to become even more adventurous and expanding the number of colors they want in their hair. It’s really fun! That said, I also believe pastels are not going anywhere! Looking for more cool hair colors? Check out our feature on pastel hair colors that you’ve got to try.  

5 Minutes with Kylie Butler on Cool Hair Colors - 75