When I became a social worker, I asked all of my clients to write down their feelings, thoughts, and emotions. I knew the benefits associated with journaling, but very rarely could I get them to actually do it. I noticed that even though some of my clients knew about journaling, they thought of it as writing in a diary, something only children or younger people use. Meanwhile, those who were open to the idea reported feeling intimidated by the process and often asked how to start journaling. I decided to embark on my own journaling challenge to find ways that my clients could practice journaling, come to enjoy it, and experience the benefits associated with it.  Once I started, I realized that writing things down is not as easy as it sounds. I had to find what worked for me. The challenge helped me to understand that journaling is not one-size-fits-all, and that there are multiple ways we can connect with ourselves and deepen our mindfulness practice through journaling. 

7 Ways to Explore Mindful Journaling 

The following are a few writing exercises that I found beneficial during my journaling journey, and that I like to recommend to my clients:

The Last Word on Journaling: Find What Works For You

Although daily journaling is encouraged, it’s not required in order to be effective. Any frequency in journaling, whether daily, weekly or as needed, is still beneficial. Your journaling practice can also be a combination of all of the above forms. I learned that artistic, word dump, and reflective journaling worked best for me.  Journaling looks and feels different for everyone, and that’s OK. There isn’t one set rule to follow. No matter the form you use or the way in which you put down your thoughts, feelings, or experiences, journaling can support you in bringing awareness to the present moment and calming your mind. Through cultivating a form of self-expression that’s free of judgment, mindful journaling allows us to appreciate moments of insight and be kind to ourselves when things get chaotic or challenging. I hope that your writing practice helps you recharge, in order to face and overcome adversities with clarity.

read more

Caren Osten Gerszberg November 10, 2022

Rashid Hughes October 25, 2022

Stephanie Domet April 5, 2022