Ammi’s Adventures: Stones 

Listen to the Story:

Hi! I’m Ammi. My name means “the whole world is inside of me,” and I think it’s true: I carry the whole world in my mind and heart and body. I know you do, too! I like to play games, explore, and discover what makes me, me. I’m so glad we’re together on this journey!  I love stones. I love rocks, crystals, and fossils. River rocks, big boulders, glittery gems. I love them all. They come in every shape, size, and color. They are so unique and also common, you can find them everywhere. But, you know what the best thing about stones is? The way they listen. They just sit there, all present, not going anywhere, ready to hear whatever we have to say. If you think about it, stones could have been listening to people, to animals, to the earth and plants around them, since the beginning of time. They have heard all the stories.  Nothing surprises a stone. And they will listen through laughter, tears, and anger. They don’t leave, they don’t get upset, they don’t tell you what to feel or think or do, they just hold tight to all the messages and remind us how strong we are. Sometimes, if we are listening to them the way they listen to us, we may even hear the response we most need. After all, they are very wise and very, very old.  Sometimes I’ll sit holding a favorite stone and practice my listening. Let’s go on an adventure and imagine together! 

A Mindful Listening Practice for Kids

Stones are strong, they have courage. They teach us that listening is brave and it takes practice. Being willing to listen to ourselves and our people makes us stronger and wiser.  Keep rocking! Love from your friend, Ammi

Try This:

We can practice listening like stones wherever we go! Remember that in order to listen like stones we only need to be open, still, and present. This takes practice, but when we practice we may find that there are always more sounds to hear, and more special stories too. Have you ever listened to the trees? They have so much to share. What about animals? Not just the ones in your home but even the wild ones have something to say—just ask the bee buzzing by you. What about the ocean, or a lake? Yup, they will speak too, if you ask. There are wise teachers all around us, and they will share their knowledge with you. Just be a rock, and listen. 

ammi’s adventures

Heather Hawk Feinberg March 1, 2021

Heather Hawk Feinberg May 6, 2021

Heather Hawk Feinberg July 5, 2021

Heather Hawk Feinberg February 7, 2022

Heather Hawk Feinberg May 4, 2022