Why I Decided to Embrace My Natural Hair Color

About a year ago, I decided to revive the ombre style I’d rocked back in my senior year of college and I opted to take the whole blonde hair experience up a notch. I went full-on (somewhat brassy in retrospect) blonde and went back and forth between loving it and hating it. As the weather warmed up and my hair grew out into a balayage/ombre hybrid, I was happy to have lighter strands and loved that my hair was guaranteed to make a statement regardless of what state the rest of me was in. No time for a swipe of bold eyeliner and a well thought out outfit? No problem. The strong contrast between my dark roots and lighter ends said a lot and when I wasn’t focused on how brassy the blonde color was, I genuinely loved my hair. As the color grew out and I toyed with the idea of undergoing another round of bleach, I started to feel less and less comfortable with my hair. My roots grew out unevenly and it began to feel like an honest attempt at ombre gone wrong. I’d pull my hair back to expose my roots and have my natural brown color around my face as much as possible. I knew the time to make a change was quickly approaching. While I was hesitant about the outcome, the decision to dye my hair back to my natural color was one of the best hair-related decisions I’ve made in years. My hair looks healthier and thicker than it ever has as hair dye inevitably makes your hair a little coarser and rocking one solid color increases the appearance of thickness. Opting for one solid color also feels more mature and thought-out to me and I’m more confident in my natural hair color and the rest of my appearance as a result. My hair routine has become a lot more streamlined since making this change, too. I’m a full-on TRESemmé addict these days. I start by washing my hair with the TRESemmé Color Revitalize Shampoo and the TRESemmé Color Revitalize Conditioner to protect the dye and nourish my hair. I either let my hair air dry or blow-dry it and apply the TRESemmé Get Sleek Heat Protection Spray. Then I spend five to ten minutes creating curls in big sections of my hair using my hair straightener. I finish off with a spritz of the TRESemmé Tres Two Freeze Hold Hairspray to hold my curls in place for days at a time. All in all, I couldn’t be happier with my latest hair change and don’t see myself experimenting with color again anytime soon. After seeing these inspiration pictures, though, I am itching to cut my hair into a lob. Looking for more natural hair color inspiration? Check out six ways to wear your new deep brown hair.

The Life Changing Magic of Embracing Your Natural Hair Color - 61